<< Back to Inductees

CSUB 1993 Mens Basketball Team


Inducted 2023

The undefeated 1992-93 men’s basketball team at Cal State Bakersfield were trend setters for the Road Runners, becoming the first of three NCAA Division II national champions under head coach Pat Douglass. If the first game that season was any indication, the writing was on the wall. CSUB defeated Cal State Stanislaus 100-80 on the road on Nov. 20, the first of two games the Runners eclipsed the century mark for a team that averaged 81 points per game and a 33-0 record. This team finished the regular season with an 87-56 drubbing of Cal Poly to end the regular season and defeated Cal State Dominguez Hills and UC Riverside in the CCAA Tournament. After that, there were two blowout wins over Grand Canyon and Alaska Anchorage in the NCAA D-II regionals before advancing to the Elite Eight. First it was an 86-80 win over North Carolina Central and a nail-biter over Wayne State in the semifinals, 61-57, before the team hoisted the trophy after defeating Troy 85-72 in the championships in Springfield, Mass.

The year, the team was led by first-team NABC All-Regional first-team members Roheen Oats and Tyrone Davis while Kenny Warren was named second-team. Davis was also named to the CCAA All-Tournament team and was named tournament MVP while Reggie Phillips and Erin Vines were both named honorable mention All-CCAA along with first-teamers Davis, Oats and Warren. The accolades continued to roll in for the championship squad with Davis being named CCAA Athlete of the Year and CCAA Player of the Year and Coach Douglass named Coach of the Year, his fourth such honor in a span of eight seasons from 1990-97.